top of page

"This is definitely my action!"


Amy Johnson works for a programme called Prison Pipeline. It's made by a team, with members taking it in turns to present it live or make a pre-recorded programme. It's on a community radio station called KBOO which is so progressive and alternative it doesn't even have an editor. "We value inclusivity and diversity."

"We don't have strict guidelines", says Amy, when I ask her about the editorial challenges that programmes like her's bring up. "Most of all we're trying to humanise people in prison, and the goal for our collective is to change the justice system."

Prison Pipeline is heard in nearby Coffee Creek Correctional Facility which is for women and the men's prison called Oregon State Penitentiary, as well as those on the outside.

"One nice thing about radio in the United States is that people are driving in their cars and when they're listening to the radio they stumble across some information or music they haven't heard before. Our show is on at a pretty prime driving time." Amy laughs mischievously. "So I always feel there are some people tuning in who aren't necessarily expecting the information they're getting from us, and then they're touched by what they hear."

Sometimes the programme includes serving offenders. After many months of planning and getting approval, producers have been allowed to go into prison to record interviews. They've even recorded a Shakespeare play put on in prison.

Amy comes across as thoughtful, kind and gentle. She has the confidence to take her time when answering my questions but she's honest enough to sigh at times. Her voice is shy sometimes and then it's suddenly assertive. It keeps you hooked.

Amy has a very personal reason for being involved in the show. "My brother is incarcerated in New York State and is in the seventh year of a 10 year sentence. He was arrested when he was 22 and he was sent to prison for assault in the first degree. It really woke me up. My brother was a friend, my first role model and we're pretty close in age. There was the shock of what happened and then the shock of him being taken away from my family. It has been pretty hard on me."

Tonight's programme is a first for Amy. "Tonight I'm actually airing a monologue I wrote about my brother's incarceration and a visit I made to see him in Upstate New York. It's about some of the craziness that happens when you're being processed into prison as a visitor. There's some harsh realities, like the way family members are treated, as if we've also broken the law just by going to visit somebody. It's the first time I've shared my story and I'm nervous about it. I haven't named the victim." Now Amy becomes really careful with her words. After a long silence, she eventually says, "I'm actually a little afraid of the victim. I'm nervous that he might have unresolved feelings."

Interesting, and an important consideration when it comes to radio content, and any possible repercussions that may come from it. It also goes back to why Amy got involved in the show in the first place. "The reason I wanted to share stories about the criminal justice system is to talk about the impact on people, especially the impact on family members of those incarcerated. I had no idea about these things before my brother."

"When your brother's time in prison comes to an end, do you think your time on this show will come to an end?" I ask.

Another silence. "I don't know," she says in a light way, that tails off. "I would like to say 'no', but it's intense with him in prison, and I'm hoping it will be less intense with him not in prison, and not having the worry about whether he's safe in prison."

"Is being involved in this show a form of action for you then?"

Amy's voice is suddenly strong and clear. "Yeah, this is definitely my action. I'm doing this show to help me deal with what I've learnt and maybe change some other people's opinions."


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page