top of page

The Execution Happened


​I spoke to a woman a few days ago who told me the boy she used to fancy at school was due to be executed. She called him her "elementary crush." Do you remember? It's in an earlier blog called "Death Row News and Shout-Outs".

Her name was Olivia and she's grown up now, but she was at The Prison Show in Houston, Texas, to send a "shout-out" to him. I interviewed her on Friday, 9th October. Her friend, who was in prison for killing a police officer, was due to be executed five days later.

Although I was composed and professional during my interview with her, between you and me, I was shocked. I have never met someone connected to a Death Row inmate before. She was so straightforward, upbeat and positive that I thought perhaps that she knew something I didn't and his death penalty might be overturned.

It wasn't. Her friend was executed by lethal injection.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page