top of page

Where In The World Am I?


I'm still in the States but compared to Houston I feel like I'm in another country. I've come to Portland on the West Coast. It's more "European" here. In fact it's like Amsterdam. Every now and again you get the whiff of weed which has just been legalised here.

I've come to Portland to visit a radio programme called The Concertina Wire presented by ex-offender Carrie Zumbrum. Tomorrow I'm catching the bus and going south to Eugene, a university town where the show is broadcast from and where Carrie lives.

Carrie says, "To me being locked up is not just about being behind bars, but also being locked up inside yourself. I like to say that I give a voice to those that don't thave a voice." Similar then, to the Prison Show in Texas.

"I do lots of shows with men and women who have been in prison. We talk about the challenges they have once they've been released and how that looks to the community."

By the way, there's loads of street art in Portland and the sign above is in an area called "Portland's Living Room" which is a public space called Pioneer Courthouse Square in the heart of the city.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page